Ensemble award

DUNDEE Rep Ensemble has been awarded a Scotsman Fringe First Award for its Fringe début.

Futureproof by Lynda Radley, a co-production between Dundee Rep Ensemble and the Traverse Theatre Company, is a new play which opened last week at the Traverse Theatre as part of the venue’s programme for Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2011.

Director Dominic Hill worked again with Rep Ensemble members John Buick, Irene Macdougall and Robert Paterson and welcomed Dundee Rep Theatre’s new graduate Natalie Wallace and visiting actors Ashley Smith, Nicola Roy and Lesley Hart. Futureproof will be performed at Dundee Rep Theatre from 31 August until 10 September after its successful run at this year’s festival.

Dundee Rep Theatre’s Chief Executive James Brining said ‘We are delighted that Futureproof has won a Scotsman Fringe First. Part of the reason for wanting to collaborate with the Traverse on this project was to showcase the work of Dundee Rep on a national platform so it’s gratifying that the quality and talent of the writing, acting and production staff has been recognised in this way.’ 

The Scotsman announced its first seven Fringe First winner of 2011 at a ceremony at the Assembly Club Bar with Scotsman’s theatre critic Joyce McMillan presenting the first set of awards. The purpose of the awards is to recognise outstanding new theatre work.

The Scotsman Fringe First Awards are designed to encourage performers to bring work to Edinburgh in the spirit of adventure and experiment, the Scotsman Fringe First Awards celebrate the best new writing on the Fringe, as judged by the team of critics from Scotland’s national broadsheet, The Scotsman. The Scotsman Fringe First Awards are presented weekly throughout the Fringe.