Young curlers in action at Junior Championships

editorial image

This week saw 10 Forfar Young Curlers (FYC) take to the ice at the finals of the Scottish Junior Curling Championships taking place at Curl Aberdeen.

Nine women and nine men’s teams competed to win the right to represent Scotland at the World Junior Curling Championships in Flims, Switzerland from February 26 to March 5.

Stuart Taylor of FYC led his team to be runners-up of the 2014 Scottish Junior Curling Championships.

Stuart Taylor was joined by Gregor Cannon (third), Ross Fraser (second) and Alasdair Schreiber (lead) (RCA Silver Team) finished the round robin on six wins and two losses with some dramatic last end steals.

This placed them third in the round robin. In the page playoff, Team Taylor beat Team Brydone 6-5 with another last end steal. In the final, Team Taylor fell behind to Team Smith early on and although they tried gallantly to fight back, the high quality of Team Smith’s play limited their chances and Team Smith eventually ran Stuart Taylors rink out of stones in the 10th end for the 7-4 win.

Robin Brydone (skip), James Carswell (third), Calum Greenwood (second) and Thomas Halder (FYC - lead) (RCA Silver team) had a great competition and for a young team they played well throughout.

They finished the round robin on six wins and two losses. In the page one against two, Team Smith beat Team Brydone 8-4. In the semi-final, Team Brydone lost to Team Taylor 6-5 and finished third overall.

Duncan Menzies (FYC), playing third, and Angus Dowell (FYC) lead with Bruce Mouat Skip and Derrick Sloan at second (RCA Gold Team) finished the eight-game round robin on five wins and three losses but this was not enough to make the page play offs. They finished fourth equal overall.

Robert Fawns (FYC - skip), Fraser Davidson (third), Andrew Callander (FYC- second), Scott Gibson (lead) finished on two wins and six losses.

Congratulations to Team Smith from Perth who won the championship for the third consecutive year. They are current World Champions and will defend their title in Switzerland.

In the ladies section four Forfar Young Curlers were in action.

Alison Wood (skip), Lesley Young (FYC - third), with Hailey Duff (FYC - second) and Ellie Fraser (lead) (RCA Silver Team) finished the round robin on five wins, three losses and finished fourth overall. Team Wood beat both finalists in the round robin but were not consistent enough to make the page playoff

Dione Clark (skip) with Louise Joiner (FYC - third), Kirsty Paterson (second), Beth Dandie (FYC - lead), won two and lost six to finish seventh in the nine-team round robin.

The ladies section was won by Team Gina Aitken of Murrayfield with a win over Team Katie Murray of Stirling, 8-3.