Trophies won and lost at Forfar Curling Club

editorial image

The final of Area 9’s Crichton Tankard was held in Aberdeen this weekend and Keith Gibbs, Ian Gibbs, Pete Smith and Steve Thomson of Forfar Curling Club made the journey north to play against Evenie Water.

Unfortunately a 5-7 final scoreline against them saw Evenie Water take the Tankard. Congratulations to Keith’s rink for winning through to the Area Final.

Pete Smith, John Duff, Ian Gibbs and Craig Paterson have won through to the final of The Callander Trophy, with a closely fought game against Forfar Young Curlers. Going into the last end with the scores level, last stone advantage proved decisive with a two-shot victory. The final will be played this week.

Congratulations to Derek Miller, Neil Smith, Peter Ord and Mike Scyner on winning this year’s main club competition, The Punch Bowl. In their final game they beat a three-man team of David Russell, Alan Joiner and Gordon Milne to secure the trophy.

Derek’s nearest rival, the rink of Andy McGlynn, John Minnaar, Colin Muir and Sandy Crichton lost 9-1 to John Duff, Peter MacDiarmid, Martin Gledhill and Adam MacDiarmid. The runner-up spot is now up for grabs.

This year’s final of The Raeside Trophy will be contested by the rinks of Bill Adamson, Mike Cumming, Bruce Keillor and Gordon Milne and the rink of Keith Gibbs, Alan Joiner, Mike Scyner and Steve Thomson. Ewan Maguire, Bruce Keillor and Craig Paterson did well in the Scottish Schools Curling Championships. Skipped by Hayley Duff, the Forfar Academy team made their way through to the final (see page 45).