Prize winners at Angus Glens

editorial image

Angus Glens Curling Club held its closing Bonspiel and annual general meeting last month after a very successful season.

One of the rinks had a great tussle and the result was a draw.

In the other rink, Aileen McMillan, Brian Ruffhead, Maggie Orr and Sheila Bradley came out on top and therefore won the trophy.

The priorities for next season are to attract other people to join the club and to strengthen the teams for inter club matches, using the most experienced skips.

The annual dinner and prize giving was held in Chapelbank.

Mike Kay, who had moved away during the season, presented the prizes and gave the club a folder filled with newspaper cuttings, going back to the days pre 2004, before Angus Glens was formed.

The prize winners for 2013-2014 were as follows:-

Opening Bonspiel – Jim McMillan, Andy Nicoll and David Vernon.

League Winners - John Grant, Jim McMillan, Lesley Joiner, Terry Lonsdale; league runners-up – David Lang, Peter Henderson, Fiona Brown, Finn McKenzie.

League Wooden Spoon - Bill Grant, David Vernon, Ellen McGibbon, Colin Thomson.

Norrie Shield – Fiona Brown, Ruth Baynes, Lesley Joiner, Sheila Bradley.

Black Medal – Aileen McMillan, Terry Lonsdale, Nicola Joiner, Ian Smith.

Pairs – Fin McKenzie, Jean Ruffhead; pairs runners-up - Liz Lonsdale, Maggie Orr.

Mitchell - Jim McMillan, Graham Henderson, Mike Kay, Fergus McIntosh.

Points – June Coull; points runner-up – Maggie Orr.

Points Wooden Spoon – Liz Lonsdale, Terry Lonsdale.

Daytime Pairs – Fin McKenzie, Liz Lonsdale. Closing Bonspiel – Aileen McMillan, Brian Ruffhead, Maggie Orr, Sheila Bradley.

Special mention is made of the “boys”, aided by the occasional lady, who did so well in the Province to finish in third place, and also in the Agricar where Angus Glens finished in fifth place, having been in the top three for a long time.