Forfar Falcons’ full swimming results

The Forfar Falcons swimmers.
The Forfar Falcons swimmers.

Swimmers, family and friends were welcomed to the Forfar Amateur Swimming Club (FASC) annual presentation dance.

There were a number of trophies presented to FASC swimmers for commitment to the Club and swimming in general.

The Sangster Trophy for hard work in teaching was won by Justin Clark.

The Jan Wilson Trophy for hard work in training, and given in memory of Jockey Jan who swam at the club, was presented to Ross Brown.

The trophy in memory of Laura Forbes, herself a team player, was given to Kirsty Richardson for great teamwork.

The Swimmer of the Year was presented to Matthew Crighton, particularly in recognition of his national achievements and commitment to water polo.

Trophies were also presented to the winners of the gala held two days previously, with medals for those who were placed second and third, and ribbons for all those who took part.

Medals were also given to those who were first, second or third in the technical swim – for those who swam each stroke, not the fastest, but the most technically correct.

For the gala, swimmers were asked to pick two strokes to swim, but also could take part in one of the 200yard open swims.

In the seven and under freestyle, the race was won by Isla Graham, with Olivia Kelly second and Abigail Stout third.

Isla also won the eight and under backstroke race – the Round Table Quaich – with Olivia Kelly second and Zara Steele third.

The eight and under freestyle was won by Niamh Graham, Bayley Morrison was second and Lois Millar was third.

Lois won the eight and under breaststroke, Niamh was second, and Laura Skea was third.

The Slinger Trophy for the 9/10 year old girls’ 50yards backstroke was won by Maia Hill. Kirsty Reid was placed second, and Isla Stewart was third.

The boys’ race was won by Jack Kelly. John Alexander was second and Ellis Mackie was third.

The Round Table Quaich for the breaststroke race was won by Rachel Allan, with Maia Hill second and Hannah McSheffrey third.

Nathan Crighton won the boys race.

The Ramsay Ladders Trophy for the 25yard butterfly was won by Rachel Adam for the girls and Calum Brown for the boys.

Emily Morrison was second in the girls’ race.

Back to 50yards for the freestyle, and the Cooper Trophy for the girls was won by Rachel Adam, Kirsty Reid was second and Rachel Allan was third.

The Richie Cup for the boys was won by John Alexander, with Jack Kelly second and Nathan Crighton placed third.

The 11/12 races were all over 50yards.

For the boys, Rohan Brown won the May Trophy for backstroke.

Charles Wilkie was second and Cameron Woods third.

Rohan also won the freestyle – the Ramsay Ladders Trophy – with Euan Cromar second and Jaden Green third.

The Glamis Trophy for the breaststroke was won by Euan, with Callum Gibb second and Jaden Green third.

Zara Hill won the Coronation Rosebowl for the backstroke race.

Lauryn Millar was second and Niamh Anderson was third.

The Round Table Cup was won by Lauryn Millar for her breaststroke swim.

Morven Whyte was second and Emily Richardson was third. Emily won the ABP Cup for the butterfly, with Morven in second place.

The Ramsay Ladders Trophy for the freestyle race was won by Zara Hill.

Katie Davies was second, Beth Steele was third.

The 13/14 girls races were hotly contested with four girls competing for four trophies.

All races were over 100yards. Chloe Reilly won the Tesco Cup for the backstroke, beating Niamh McSheffrey in to second place by less than half a second.

Niamh won the Round Table Quaich for her breaststroke swim, with Sarah Crighton in second.

Sarah was also a close second in the freestyle race for the Shepherd Trophy which was won by Becky Wilmshurst.

Becky also won the Strathmore Cup for the butterfly, with Chloe placed second.

Matthew Crighton won both the Tesco Cup and the Anderson Cup for his backstroke and freestyle races respectively.

Luke Millar was second in the back and Daniel Forbes was third.

Calum Kelman was second in the freestyle and Ross Brown was third.

Ross won the Strathmore Cup for the butterfly beating Mac Whyte in to second place.

The breaststroke and Round Table Quaich was won by Luke Millar with Mac Whyte second and Matthew McSheffrey third.

Gary Nisbet won the Neish Trophy for the Butterfly in the 15 and over boys butterfly race, and also the Dorothy Roberts Cup for the freestyle.

Jack Brennan and Lewis Robertson were second and third respectively in the freestyle.

Lewis was also second in the FASC Cup for the backstroke race, beaten by Callum Brown.

Callum also bagged the Ferguson Trophy for the breaststroke.

For the 15 and over girls, Ellie McCallum was in fine from, winning the FASC Cup for the backstroke, and the Allardice Cup for the breaststroke.

Lucy Richardson was second and Karri Milne third in the back, Kirsty Richardson was second in the breast.

Lucy and Kirsty were first and second respectively in the FASC Cup for the freestyle.

Karri Milne was third. Zoe Wilmshurst won the Chalice Cup for her butterfly.

Karri Milne won the 200yard open backstroke and McLaren Cup girls race.

Rohan Brown won the boys race, with Jack Kelly in second place.

Ellie McCallum won the Round Table Quaich and breaststroke, Kirsty Richardson and Morven Whyte was third.

Callum Brown won the boys race, Luke Millar was second and Euan Cromar was third.

The freestyle and Captaincy Cup was won by Lucy Richardson for the girls, with Becky Wilmshurst in second and Zara Hill in third, and Matthew Crighton for the boys, with Mac Whyte and Calum Kelman in second and third respectively.

The technical swim trophies were won overall for the girls by Ellie McCallum, and for the boys by Callum Brown.

Other age group winners were Maia Hill, Niamh Anderson, Becky Wilmshurst, Jack Kelly and Callum Gibb.

Thanks to all the technical officials without whom the gala could not run.

Thanks too, to all the mums and dads, and family members who come along to cheer on the team.

Anyone interested in swimming, or getting more involved in helping out with the Club should access the website