On form Loons sink Pars at Station Park

editorial image

Forfar Athletic were determined for a win against Dunfermline Athletic after sinking to the bottom of League One the previous weekend.

And they managed it in excellent style by bringing the Pars five-game-unbeaten run to an end with a 4-0 victory at Station Park.

Loons boss Dick Campbell made four changes to the side that were defeated by Arbroath last Saturday with Stuart Malcolm, Gary Fusco, Gavin Malin and Paul McManus all back in the starting 11.

Gavin Swankie was ruled out due to suspension after getting sent off in the Arbroath clash, Omar Kader and Marvin Andrews dropped to the bench and Neil McCabe absent from the squad entirely.

And the Loons could not have made a better start with the opening goal coming from Paul McManus in the first minute. Chris Templeman fed the ball through to McManus from the right who slotted home from 10 yards out. The next two chances came for the visitors when a free kick eight minutes in by Stephen Husband went just right of the post. A minute later a Ross Millen attempt was cleared well by Darren Dods.

McManus could have made it 2-0 in the 12th minute but his low drive from 30 yards just bounced wide.

But just a minute later the Loons increased their lead to two when Stuart Malcolm headed in from close range.

Just before the quarter of an hour mark the Pars had a chance to pull back a goal when the rebound from a Ryan Wallace header fell to Josh Falkingham who just missed the right side of the post.

In the 16th minute Andy Geggan sent the ball over the bar in the first of many chances he had for the Pars in the first half.

A minute later Geggan again was unlucky to see his excellent chance hit the side netting.

In the 20th minute Geggan could only find the side netting again after pressure from Mark Baxter.

A minute later a Dods foul on Callum Morris saw the visitors awarded a free kick, taken by Husband it was held well by Loons ‘keeper Darren Hill.

Just after the half hour mark McManus almost made it 3-0 but the ball just inched past the post.

With six minutes left to go in the first half a Dunfermline Athletic corner taken by Millen found the box and deflected off Baxter to just bounce past the right hand post.

In the last minute of the half the Pars tried again but Morris’ right-footed drive went miles over the bar just before referee Alan Muir called time.

Half time: Forfar Athletic 2, Dunfermline Athletic 0

The visitors looked determined to make up for their poor first half after the break but the Loons looked equally determined to hold onto their lead.

And it was the visitors who took the first shot on goal for the half when a long-range effort by Shaun Byrne went high and wide.

A minute later Byrne again looked close to the net when he just jinked the ball at close range with it looking almost certain to go in before it was denied by ‘keeper Hill.

In the 66th minute a McManus cross was just missed by Dale Hilson.

Campbell made his first change of the game in the 73rd minute when McManus was replaced by Omar Kader.

And moments later the Loons made it 3-0 when Gavin Malin met a long Dale Hilson cross.

Campbell made his second change of the game with 15 minutes to go when Malin was replaced by Ross Campbell.

With just over 10 minutes left to go a Hilson cross across the goal mouth looked dangerous for the visitors again but it just failed to connect.

But the deal was sealed with seven minutes left to go when Hilson’s hard work finally paid of to make it 4-0.

The final change for the Loons saw James Dale replaced by Liam Keillor.

Forfar Athletic: Darren Hill, Mark Baxter, Iain Campbell, Stuart Malcolm, Darren Dods, Gary Fusco, James Dale, Gavin Malin, Chris Templeman, Paul McManus, Dale Hilson. Subs: Ross Campbell, Omar Kader, Marvin Andrews, Liam Keillor, Craig Smith, Rab Douglas.

Dunfermline Athletic: Ryan Scully, Ross Millen, Alex Whittle, Luje Johnston, Callum Morris, Andy Geggan, Shaun Byrne, Stephen Husband, Rysn Wallace, Josh Falkingham, Robert Thomson. Subs: Ryan Thomson, Jordan Moore, Kerr Young, Alan Smith, Ryan Ferguson, Faissal El Bakhatoui, Ryan Goodfellow.