Torrential rain hits cut flower entries at annual summer show

THE annual summer show of Kirriemuir and District Gardening Association was staged in Kirriemuir Old Parish Church Hall on Saturday.

There were fewer entries in the flowers this year, but that was not surprising after the torrential rain on Thursday.

The pot plants, however, were magnificent with a superb show of fuchsias.

There was an encouraging entry in floral art and in baking but the number of entries in handicrafts was disappointing.

The judges this year were Jim Ewing from Forfar, for flowers, plants and vegetables and Cathy Munro and Barbara Gray from Kirriemuir, for the baking and handicrafts.

The prizes were presented by Miss Marie Hill.

The main award-winnersv were as follows:- Silver Cup for most points in the vegetable section, Mrs Moira McColgan; runner-up, Mr Nigel Guthrie; John Rugg Cup for leek, Mrs Moira McColgan; Silver Cup for most points in the cut flower section, Mr George Bruce; runner-up, Mrs Annie Milne.

Airlie Cup for most points in the pot plant section, Mr George Bruce; runner-up, Mrs Moira McColgan; Clifton Cup for three gladioli, Mr George Bruce; Annie Milne Trophy for best dahlia exhibit, Mr George Bruce.

Gibson Silver Salver for best Exhibit in classes 1 to 73, Mr George Bruce; Elliott Shield for the children’s sections, Bethany Guthrie.

Stewart Ramsay Salver for baking, Mrs Elsie Nicoll; runner-up, Mr Andy Mills; Bruce Salver for handicrafts, Mrs Sheila Bruce; runner-up, Mrs Jean France.

Durston Rosebowl for most points in flower arranging, Mrs Sheila Bruce; Benshie Bowl for Class 81 in flower arranging, Mrs Sheila Bruce.

THE annual flower show of Lunanhead and District Horticultural Society took place in the village hall on Saturday.

The main award-winners were as follow:-

Laird Trophy for the best entry in the flower section, Lesley de Veres; Baggerton Trophy for the best entry in the vegetable section, Ian Craib; Gow Rosebowl for the best rose garden, Bill Mutch; Cyril and Jean Robb Trophy for the best private garden overall, Nancy McDonald.

President’s Trophy (best entry in the show), Ian Craib; Proctor Cup and Finlayson Memorial Cup for most points in the children’s section, Paul Rennie and Blair Butchart; N. & W. Finlayson Cup (most points in the baking section), Kate Butler.

Wood Trophy (most points in floral art), Doris Black; St. Margaret Cup (best council house garden overall), Finlay Mackintosh; The Urquhart Shield (best hanging basket or container), Bill Mutch; The Society Trophy (open section), Ian Craib; The Orrock Shield (best village garden overall), Robin de Veres; The Edward Kettlewell Memorial Shield (best exhibit in pot plant section), Lesley de Veres; The Morris Trophy (best senior citizens garden overall), David Stirling; Jock Murray Memorial Shield (best village border), Mr and Mrs J. Stewart.

Open section: best roses, B. Mutch; best row of garden peas, R. de Veres; best carrots, N. McDonald; best onions, R. de Veres; best onion sets, R. de Veres; best glove beetroot, N. McDonald; best sweet peas, N. McDonald; best hanging basket or container, B. Mutch; best border, Mr and Mrs I. Stewart.