SNP cruise to victory in two local seats

SNP candidate Graeme Dey
SNP candidate Graeme Dey

SUCH was the tidal wave of support for the Scottish National Party in the latest Scottish Government elections last week that it was a foregone conclusion that the candidates wearing yellow and black rosettes would storm to victory locally.

And, for Graeme Dey in Angus South and Nigel Don in Angus North and Mearns, it was a walk in the park.

While the SNP were breaking barriers in eye-catching style in the Labour heartlands of Glasgow and sweeping all before them across the north and east of Scotland, it was merely a question of how far in front the SNP candidates would finish here in Angus.

In what could be described as the ‘Don’ning of a new ‘Dey’, the SNP totally wiped the floor with the opposition in Angus South and Angus North and Mearns.

In Angus South, former sports editor Graeme Dey was over 10,000 votes ahead of his nearest rival. With a 58% per cent share in the first past the post contest, he finished with 16,164 votes, compared to the 5,581 of nearest challenger, Conservative Hughie Campbell Adamson. Labour’s William Campbell finished miles behind in third place with 3,703, with Angus Independent David Fairweather heaping further embarrassment on the Liberal Democrats by claiming 1,321 votes to leave Clive Sneddon in bottom spot in the five-way contest with a mere 874 share.

In Angus North and Mearns, Nigel Don, with almost a 55% share of the vote on 13,660, finished comfortably ahead of Conservative candidate Alex Johnstone (6,374), Kevin Hutchens in third with 3,160 votes and Liberal Democrat Sanjay Samani (1,760).

Graeme and Nigel will be joined in Holyrood by SNP colleague Mark McDonald, who emerged as one of the seven list MSPs elected to represent Scotland North East in the next parliamentary term.

Alex Johnstone, despite his trouncing in the first past the post element, is back in Holyrood as a list member, being joined by Tory colleague Nanette Milne, while Labour have three list MSPs from this neck of the woods - Richard Baker, Jenny Marra and Lewis Macdonald, with Alison Mcinness the only Liberal Democrat voice representing Scotland North East.