More news from the rurals


Members were welcomed to the May meeting by President June Richardson. Elizabeth Anderson from Citizens Advice Bureau gave a well-informed presentation about the organisation. The AGM followed. The new committee comprises Helen Flight, Rhoda Keith, Lindsey Peters, Yvonne Rennie, Morag Thomson and Sheila Todd with Morag Thomson as President.

Prizes - Erskine Jackson Trophy and Diamond Jubilee Cup - Rhoda Keith. Wilson Shield - Morag Thomson.

Departing member Moira Hammond received an arrangement of flowers as appreciation for her commitment to the rural.


Frances Gazzard welcomed members who enjoyed a floral demonstration by fellow member Linda Smeaton. Competitions:- Lady’s Corsage 1 Elizabeth MacRury, 2 Frances Gazzard, 3 Elizabeth Christie; Fish Cakes - 1 Frances Gazzard; Seasonal Flower from the Garden - 1 Muriel Beattie, 2 Elizabeth MacRury, 3 Linda Smeaton; Overall winners for the year: Housewife/Handicrafts - 1 Gertie Keillor, 2 Frances Gazzard; Flower of the Month: 1 Elizabeth MacRury, 2= Anne Scott, Gertie Keillor.