High standard of entry at annual TARGE event

“A very high standard and improving every year” was the verdict of the judging panel at the 28th annual wargames event run by Kirriemuir Wargames Club in Webster’s High School.

Attendance was down a little on the previous year with traders reporting mixed fortunes. Confidence in the wargaming hobby, however, is on the up with the show for 2015 already fully booked.

Opening TARGE and presenting the prizes, recently retired Webster’s High School rector Eric Summers expressed pleasure at the huge range of historical games on show. He was particularly impressed by the Second World War Pegasus Bridge and Bannockburn 1314 games and, as a former history teacher, was able to comment on the accuracy of the tables.

David Jarvis snapped up the wargames unit prize as well as several others while Iain McDonald from Glasgow had the best army and best single figure. Younger Kirriemuir members staged a clean sweep of the junior sections for the first time, and deservedly so too with the standards and abilities on show exceptional for the juniors.

New club East Neuk Irregulars were judged the best participation table while The Iron Brigade from Aberdeenshire swept the boards with the best demonstration table which was also awarded The Targe, an additional trophy judged by Kirriemuir Club members. Kenny Thompson from Falkirk was presented with the Colin M Smith trophy and prize for services to wargaming, running both his home club and the annual Carronade show.

Retired brigadier Charles Grant accepted a cheque from the club on behalf of Combat Stress with a further £4,000 presented by members of the South East Scotland Wargames Club. Full results can be found on our website at www.kirriemuirherald.co.uk


Wargames Unit (Isla Cup) - 1 David Jarvis, 2 Iain McDonald, 3 Peter Muir; Junior Wargames Unit (Lord Airlie Shield) - 1 Andrew Moyes, 2 Adam Jackson, 3 Adam Jackson; Wargames Army (John Swinney MSP Shield) - 1 Iain McDonald Glasgow, 2 Alan Wedderburn (Tain), 3 Marco Grilanda (Grangemouth); Single Figure (Urban Mammoth Trophy) - 1 Iain McDonald, 2 David Drage (Bridge of Don), Armoured Fighting Vehicle - 1 Marco Grilanda (Grangemouth), 2 Paul Judge (Forfar); Military Modelling (Lord Strathmore Shield) - 1 David Drage (Bridge of Don), 2 David Jarvis (Durham); Junior Modelling (Rotary Club of Kirriemuir - 1 Adam Jackson (Kirriemuir), 2 Christopher Reid (Kirriemuir); Diorama - 1 Michael McGechie (Forfar), 2 David Jarvis (Durham).

Kirriemuir Wargames Club Targe 2014 - Results

Sci-fi Fantasy Group (Visocchi’s of Kirriemuir Cup) - 1 Kevin McCusker (Tullibody), 2 Graham Walla (Kingsmuir), 3 David Drage; Kirriemuir Club Adults (Jacobite Shield) - Paul Judge, Forfar; Kirriemuir Club Juniors (Claverhouse Shield) - 1 Adam Jackson (Kirriemuir), 2 Christopher Reid (Kirriemuir); Best Club Participation Table (Kirriemuir Round Table Cup) - 1 East Neuk Irregulars (East Neuk, Fife), 2 Monty’s Wargaming World (Perth), 3 Charles Grant (Leuchars Veteran Wargamers, Leuchars); Best Club Demonstration Table - 1 Iron Brigade (Stonehaven), 2 League of Augsburg (East Kilbride), 3) Border Reivers (Newcastle-upon-Tyne).

Services to Wargaming: Kenny Thompson (Falkirk); The Targe (Best of Show) - Iron Brigade (Stonehaven).