Awards for excellence for Forfar Academy pupils

The following pupils at Forfar Academy were presented with Awards for Excellence in school or personal activities at the annual prize-giving:

Tutor Time Challenge Shield - Jack Green. S2 Debating Shield, Caitlin Adam and Katie Valentine. S2 Best public Speaker (Craig Millar Cup), Megan Penman. Christina Ilia Poetry Award, Saul Docherty. UKMT Mathematical Challenge for S1 2013, Best in School, Best in Year and Gold Certificate, Peter Garland.

UKMT Mathematical Challenge for S2 2013 Best in Year and Silver Certificate, Lara Mertes.

UKMT Mathematical Challenge for S3 2013, Best in School and Best in Year, Aaron De Veres. University of Dundee ACES Project Prize for Outstanding Creative Endeavour, Erinn Lucas.

University of Dundee Research Project Prize for Professionalism and Outstanding Contribution to the school Ethos, Ruth Scott. Arbroath Musical Festival Instrumental Award, Ailsa Gill and Sarah Niven.

Ebern Cup - Junior Musician of the Year, Aiden Harvey. William Bernard Memorial Trophy - Senior Young Musician of the Year - Brodie McCash. Dale D Smith Cup for solo piping - Heather Robertson. Dale D Smith Shield for Gaelic Singing, Ruadth Griffin. Regional Aberfeldy Gaelic Mod - Solo Singing - Finlay Cormie.

Regional Aberfeldy Gaelic Mod, Poetry Reciting, Rachel Morrison. Dale D Smith Cup for best overall S3 Pupil in Art & Design - Susannah Rose. Dale D Smith Quaich for best overall S4 pupil in art and design, Ruth Scott.

Nicoll Award for Craft and Skills, Sandi Bisset. Don and Low Bi-Centennial Trophy for Design and Technology, Rachel Welsh. Rotary Club of Forfar Award for Technology, Caitlin Adams. Kirsty Simpson Award, Alan Barret and Adam Morrison.

Frances Duncan Shield, Kirsty Haynes. Alana Keith Award, Sarah Niven. Forfar Community Council Shield, Hedz Up. Parent Council Cup, Ellie Finlayson. Dr Jamieson Award for Service to School, Matthew Steel and Gemma Wark. A S Thomson Virtutis Causa Medal, Rachel Hill. Head Teacher’s Award for Senior Prefects: head girl, Rachel Hill; deputy head girl, Emma Cuthill; head boy, Matthew Steel; deputy head boy, Callum Innes.

Don and Low Bursary Award, Stuart Thomson.