Council celebrates greenfingered residents

editorial image

There was praise for the high standard of entries for the 2015 garden awards ceremony held at Montrose Town Hall today (Friday).

Communities vice-convener Councillor Jeanette Gaul said: “As usual there was an outstanding level of entries for the awards and I thank every gardener who has put in a great deal of hard work to achieve success.

“As well as the fabulous domestic gardens of our council tenants, this year we added a new pub, hotel and primary school gardens or outdoor space category. The judges agreed that all of our green fingered residents, schools and businesses excelled themselves with colourful and imaginative garden displays this summer.

“Choosing the winners is always a difficult job and every year we are always impressed by the number – and standard – of entries. In congratulating the well-deserved winners, I’d like to mention all our tenants who play their part in adding to the attractiveness of our towns and villages. Their pride in their gardens is to be commended.

Results: McCrae Wilson Cup – Arbroath - 1, Rose Thomson, 28 Kirkton Road, Arbroath: 2, Mr Ferguson, 41 Cairnie Loan, Arbroath. Carnoustie Rosebowl – Carnoustie - 1, Colin Smith, 272 Ravensby Road, Carnoustie; 2,Mr and Mrs Craib, 17 Winter Place, Carnoustie. Murray McGlyn Trophy – Monifieth - 1, Mr and Mrs Meldrum, 12 Tyndall Crescent, Monifieth; 2, Matthew Craigie, 5 Beechgrove, Monifieth. Ruth Leslie Melville Rosebowl – Brechin - 1, James Thomson, 38 Drumachlie Park, Brechin; 2, Mr Hutcheson, 111 Market Street, Brechin. George Norrie Rosebowl – Montrose - 1, Bert Black, 8 Lamb Way, Montrose; 2, Patrick Donald, 2 Blackfriars Court, Montrose. Councillor Kitty Ritchie Landward Plate - Brechin and Montrose Landward - 1, John Whyte, 4 Park Cottages, Hillside; 2, Mr and Mrs McPherson, 8 Slateford Road, Edzell; Forfar Horticultural Cup – Forfar - 1, Barbara Raczkowska-Marciniak, 103 Glenclova Terrace, Forfar; 2, Audrey Torrie, 19 Graham Crescent, Forfar.

Kirriemuir AC Barrie Cup – Kirriemuir - 1, Jane Troup, 23 Prosen Road, Kirriemuir; 2, Lesley Tervet, 5 Kirkton Place, Kingoldrum. Sidlaw Challenge Plate – Sidlaw area - 1, Eileen McKiddie, 33 Highfield Place, Birkhill.

There were two new categories introduced this year:

Primary School – Auchterhouse Primary School

Licensed Premises – Commercial Inn, Arbroath

Additional prizes also went to:

Stewart Edward Cup – Presented to overall winner (best of first prize winners) Mr and Mrs Lawson, 3 Strathmore Road, Glamis. Jim Miller Sustainable Trophy - Mr and Mrs Lawson, 3 Strathmore Road, Glamis. Provost’s Quaich - Auchterhouse Primary School. Bill Roberton Trophy - Directors’ Special Award – Presented to the best in Angus above the overall winner - James Thomson, 38 Drumachlie Park, Brechin.