editorial image

MEMBERS of Forfar 41 Club gathered together at Forfar Golf Club recently to celebrate their 50th anniversary.

As well as celebrating 50 years since its inception, the evening also included a historic mile-stone with the award of the first Honorary Life President of the Club to Alan Garrick.

Alan joined Forfar Round Table in 1960 and was appointed at an early stage as secretary and then became Table chairman in 1965/66, He quickly took office at Round Table Area level before becoming the founder chairman of Area 49 in 1968.

His obvious enthusiasm as a member of Round Table was continued when he joined Forfar 41 Club in 1970 and, as well as being chairman in 1975-76, he has been a member continuously for 41 years.

It was therefore appropriate that he was appointed the first Honorary Life President of Forfar 41 Club.

The top table for the 50th anniversary dinner was Vaughan Harris, 41 Club National Vice-President; Allan Thomson, 41 Club Area 2 National Councillor; Brydon Greenhill, chairman of Forfar 41 Club, Gordon Millar of Forfar Round Table and Alan Garrick, who proposed the vote of thanks.

The main speaker was Alex Fleming of Inverurie who spent 12 years as a livestock auctioneer and land agent at Perth and Huntly marts before moving to Scotia Homes in 2007 to be a land manager and buyer.

He has also recently started combining this role with a position at M. Bruce & Partners Ltd, Ellon, where he oversees the management of numerous commercial and residential properties and the sale of serviced plots at industrial parks to the south and north of Aberdeen.

The evening provided the ideal opportunity to look back on the formation of the Forfar club, In the early summer of 1960 a number of Forfar ex-Tablers got together for a meal and a chinwag and enjoyed it so much they began to meet on a monthly basis.

A guest at these early meetings was Ernest Suttie who was to become a member (and chairman) of the Dundee Ex-Tablers Club.

An in-augural meeting of the Forfar Club was held in the Royal Hotel on May 10, 1961. Present were Bill Boyle, Dempster Cooper, Ken Garland, Don Hendry, George MacMurdo, Bob (Mac) Macpherson, Logan Milne, John Murdie and Ed Stewart, with apologies from David Thomas. The proposal to form the Forfar and District Former Round Tablers’ Club was carried unanimously with Dempster Cooper elected as their founder chairman, with the Forfar club being the second formed in Scotland, after Dundee. It was affiliated to the National Association.

The club’s first secretary was Logan Milne who was the driving force behind the inauguration of the Brechin and Kirriemuir Ex-Tablers clubs in 1969 and 1975 respectfully.

Logan was elected to the National Council in 1968, immediately after holding the chair at the Forfar Club, and was made the first Honorary Member of Forfar 41 Club.

The change of name from the Forfar Former Tablers’ Club to Forfar 41 Club was made in 1964. At a special dinner in 1970 Forfar Round Table presented the club with a chairman’s jewel complete with engraved name bars of the first ten chairmen. Monthly meetings have been varied with speakers, social events, visits to businesses and sporting events, ensuring members toasted 50 happy years of friendship and fellowship at the anniversary dinner.