50 candidates for 29 seats

FIFTY candidates will be vying for 29 seats on Angus Council when the elections are held in early May.

Four councillors will be elected for wards in Forfar and District, Monifieth & Sidlaw, Arbroath West & Letham; Arbroath East & Lunan; and Montrose & District.

And three councillors will be elected to serve Kirriemuir & Dean, Brechin & Edzell and Carnoustie & District.

The following candidates have been nominated to contest the eight wards:-

Ward 1 - Kirriemuir & Dean - Alison Andrews, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Iain Gaul; Scottish National Party (SNP); Jeanette Gaul, Scottish National Party (SNP); Ronnie Proctor, Scottish Conservative and Unionist.

Ward 2 – Brechin & Edzell - Janet Cowan, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Mairi Evans, Scottish National Party (SNP); Jane Ferguson; Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Jim Houston, Scottish National Party (SNP); Douglas Murray, Independent; Bob Myles, Independent;

Ward 3 – Forfar & District - Charlie Brown, Independent; Colin Brown, Independent; Lynne Devine, Scottish National Party (SNP); Ian McLaren, Independent; Glennis Middleton, Scottish National Party (SNP); John Rymer, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Avril Simpson, Scottish Liberal Democrats.

Ward 4 – Monifieth & Sidlaw - Craig Fotheringham, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Sheila Hands, Scottish National Party (SNP); Rob Murray, Scottish National Party (SNP); Liz Petrie, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Sandy Ritchie, Scottish National Party (SNP); Margaret Thomson, Scottish Labour Party.

Ward 5 – Carnoustie & District - Lorraine Barthorpe, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Bill Bowles, Independent; Brian Boyd, Independent, Adam Cormie, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Fiona Gibb, Scottish National Party (SNP); Helen Oswald, Scottish National Party (SNP); Hamid Rasheed, Scottish Labour Party.

Ward 6 – Arbroath West & Letham - Kevin Barthorpe, Scottish Liberal Democrats; David Fairweather, Independent; Alex King, Scottish National Party (SNP); David Lumgair, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Alec Mollison, Scottish Labour Party; Peter Nield, Independent; Ewan Smith, Scottish National Party (SNP); Ian Watson, Independent.

Ward 7 – Arbroath East & Lunan - Martyn Geddes, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Ginny Graham, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Donald Morrison, Scottish National Party (SNP); Bob Spink, Independent; Alastair Stuart, Scottish Labour Party; Sheena Welsh, Scottish National Party (SNP).

Ward 8 – Montrose & District - Andrew Boyd, Scottish Conservative and Unionist; Bill Duff, Scottish National Party (SNP); David May, Scottish Liberal Democrats; Ina Paton, Scottish Labour Party; Mark Salmond, Independent; Paul Michael Valentine, Scottish National Party (SNP).